Software files and User settings files

There are two groups of files for running Ancestris.

  • The software files run the application,
  • The user settings files store user preferences.

You may lose the software files because you can always get them from the Ancestris website;
but you should backup you user settings files as they are specific to you.

Software files

Ancestris software files will be inside the ancestris folder used during the installation.

You can type whereis ancestris on a terminal to find out what that folder is (not in Windows).

This ancestris folder contains the following sub-folders.

  • ancestris
  • bin
    • ancestris : executable file to start Ancestris under MacOS and Linux
    • ancestris.exe : executable file to start Ancestris under Windows
    • ancestris64.exe : executable file to start Ancestris under Windows with Java 64-bit architecture (recommended)
    • ancestris.gif : Ancestris icon to use when creating an application launcher shortcut
    • other Ancestris icons
  • etc
  • harness
  • platform

When you reinstall Ancestris, you simply replace those software files.

User settings files

The user directory

Ancestris user settings files are in the user directory.

You can see the location of the user directory on the About dialogue.
This dialogue can be accessed from the main menu / Help / About Ancestris or else by clicking on the About button About_box_button.png.

Example :
About_box_info.png

This user directory depends on your operating system.

  • Windows : C:\Users\[your name]\.ancestris\<version>
  • MacOS : ${HOME}/Library/Application Support/ancestris/<version>
  • Linux : ~/.ancestris/<version>

Where <version> is the installed version number.

  • 10 : in this case, the main version 10
  • trunk : in this case, the daily version 11

The configuration file and the log file

There are two especially important files in the user's folder for startup and diagnostic of eventual bugs.

  • The configuration file : <user's folder>/etc/ancestris.conf defines the launch settings.
  • The log file : <user's folder>/ancestris/ancestris.log stores all warnings and error messages occurring while you use Ancestris.

Here are also located your preferences and customised templates.

  • Your preferences : <user's folder>/ancestris/config
  • Your personal templates : <user's folder>/ancestris/blueprints
  • Your almanacs : <user's folder>/ancestris/almanac
  • Your individual and family record templates : <user's folder>/ancestris/gedart
  • Your history of modifications : <user's folder>/var/cache/ModificationsHistory

Please check the user guide to learn what these templates are for.

Detailed description

~/.ancestris/trunk

User directory

  • ancestris
  • User defined templates
      • almanac
      • Almanacs for the chronology view and for chronology reporting.
      • blueprints
      • Blueprints available for displaying genealogy information in dynamic tree view, Gedcom editor, etc.
      • gedart
      • Standard models and user-defined models for the individual and family record / Gedart report.
      • ancestris.log
      • Ancestris log file.
      • This is the file Ancestris support might need in case you submit an error.
      • You can define the size of the log file in the Preferences.
  • config
  • User defined preferences
      • Modules
      • User preferences of installed extensions
      • Preferences
      • User preferences of all views and tools except those of the installed extensions
      • Toolbars
      • Main toolbar settings
      • Windows2Local
      • Position of windows
      • shortcuts.html
      • Shortcuts
  • etc
 
      • ancestris.conf
      • Ancestris configuration file for Launch settings
  • modules
  • Installed extensions
  • update_tracking
  • Installed extensions update information
  • var
 
      • cache
 
          • ModificationsHistory
          • Modification history of Gedcom files opened by Ancestris
          • ...
          • Temporary information stored by Ancestris
      • log
      • Temporary log files

 

When you reinstall Ancestris, user settings files are not modified and you should be able to run the updated version with all your previous settings.

However, there could be some changes in the way the new version uses some of the settings.
   - If this is the case, we recommend you to only keep the ancestris, config, etc and ModificationsHistory folders.
   - If you have trouble with the windows, we recommend you to remove the Windows2Local folder.

 

Uninstall Ancestris

To uninstall Ancestris, just delete the 2 folders of the software files and the user settings files.