Software files and User settings files

There are two groups of files for running Ancestris.

You may lose the software files because you can always get them from the Ancestris website;
but you should backup you user settings files as they are specific to you.

Software files

Ancestris software files will be inside the ancestris folder used during the installation.

You can type whereis ancestris on a terminal to find out what that folder is (not in Windows).

This ancestris folder contains the following sub-folders.

When you reinstall Ancestris, you simply replace those software files.

User settings files

The user directory

Ancestris user settings files are in the user directory.

You can see the location of the user directory on the About dialogue.
This dialogue can be accessed from the main menu / Help / About Ancestris or else by clicking on the About button About_box_button.png.

Example :
About_box_info.png

This user directory depends on your operating system.

Where <version> is the installed version number.

The configuration file and the log file

There are two especially important files in the user's folder for startup and diagnostic of eventual bugs.

Here are also located your preferences and customised templates.

Please check the user guide to learn what these templates are for.

Detailed description

~/.ancestris/trunk

User directory

  • ancestris
  • User defined templates
      • almanac
      • Almanacs for the chronology view and for chronology reporting.
      • blueprints
      • Blueprints available for displaying genealogy information in dynamic tree view, Gedcom editor, etc.
      • gedart
      • Standard models and user-defined models for the individual and family record / Gedart report.
      • ancestris.log
      • Ancestris log file.
      • This is the file Ancestris support might need in case you submit an error.
      • You can define the size of the log file in the Preferences.
  • config
  • User defined preferences
      • Modules
      • User preferences of installed extensions
      • Preferences
      • User preferences of all views and tools except those of the installed extensions
      • Toolbars
      • Main toolbar settings
      • Windows2Local
      • Position of windows
      • shortcuts.html
      • Shortcuts
  • etc
 
      • ancestris.conf
      • Ancestris configuration file for Launch settings
      • This configuration file complements the Ancestris application configuration file placed in the software files described above.
  • modules
  • Installed extensions
  • update_tracking
  • Installed extensions update information
  • var
 
      • cache
 
          • ModificationsHistory
          • Modification history of Gedcom files opened by Ancestris
          • ...
          • Temporary information stored by Ancestris
      • log
      • Temporary log files

 

When you reinstall Ancestris, user settings files are not modified and you should be able to run the updated version with all your previous settings.

However, there could be some changes in the way the new version uses some of the settings.
   - If this is the case, we recommend you to only keep the ancestris, config, etc and ModificationsHistory folders.
   - If you have trouble with the windows, we recommend you to remove the Windows2Local folder.

 

Uninstall Ancestris

To uninstall Ancestris, just delete the 2 folders of the software files and the user settings files.

 

 


Revision #2
Created 28 April 2021 12:46:09 by frederic
Updated 29 May 2021 19:30:00 by frederic